top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlexandria Rabishaw

Artist research

I don't usually do a lot of research and sketching; I like to "sketch" in the clay, experimenting with forms, or making small scale tests, or simply testing an idea to see if it will work. I like to see where my subconscious mind goes before going back and tracing my steps to artists doing similar work or references to work I enjoy.


In this project, much of the initial inspiration came from some visiting artists we had, the first being Toni De Jesus (https://www.tonidejesus.com/ceramicsdegreeshow ) whose coil workshop got me started on the handbuilding side and coiling. He also includes flux materials within his work that work similar to the egyptian paste I used.



We also had Nico Conti ( https://www.nicoconti.com/projects ) whose work with the 3D printer inspired me to experiment with form and patterns. His work had that controlled chaos of a print that has "gone wrong" but it is purposeful and deliberate.









When I started with the figure drawing side of things, Jenny Saville's work immediately came up, and her beautiful oil paintings of voluptuous curvy women definitely fall into my pool of inspiration.








Looking through at historical references, I have really always been drawn to and appreciated artists who captured the realness of the feminine form, who painted or sculpted women with realistic proportions. One of my all time favourite sculptors is Bernini, and the way he makes the marble look like flesh moving is truly remarkable.



Most of the Baroque period had curvier women, and the more dynamic poses of that time really showed all angles, and the paintings had a softer, dreamier feeling. Rubens is one of the first names that come to mind, and I do think my love of this time period has subconsciously made its way through into this project.









1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page