top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlexandria Rabishaw

Finished? pieces

This project has been an ever changing experiment with form and process. Starting with forms inspired by classical ceramic vase shapes, and still incorporating handbuilt elements of coiling; ending with deliberately feminine forms and moving away from handbuilding entirely. I have followed my interests on this project, turning the sail of my creativity directly into the wind of inspiration wherever it was blowing. I have had many pieces "fail" in terms of printing perfection, but I think that there is as much beauty in the slumped and imperfect layers as there is in the "perfect," evenly printed pieces. Working with clay is such a tactile experience, both in the making process as well as the finished piece; even with the printer doing all of the "manual" labor of making, through my human touch of making the slip a bit too thin and telling it to print pieces a bit too complicated, I still have an effect on the piece.


I don't consider this project done, I think that it is only the beginning of what I want to experiment with, and I am still figuring out a lot of the aspects of what I want to move forward with. I do want to continue to scale up, and I do like the process of pinching the finished printed pieces to give a more handbuilt surface. As much as I like the terracotta finish, I do want to experiment with different colours in the clay as well, even if it is just adding more red iron oxide to some of the terracotta slip. I like the variation in the piece with the blue clay, and I want to explore that more. I am also working on another figure base to print, and I think having more variation in the figurative element will add new dimension to my work.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page